

# The Young Scientist Research Award: Women for Science IANAS

# CALL FOR IANAS ACADEMIES

For the first time in 2022, the IANAS Women for Science have decided to call a prize, for young female scientists who have recently defended their PhD theses.

The Prize will be coordinated and supported by IAP/IANAS.

#### Prize

The winning nominee will be allocated U\$S 1500 dollars to spend in suitable activities related to her research work.

The biography of the winner will be posted on the IANAS-WfS webpage, and a certificate award will also be issued.

#### **Eligibility Criteria**

- 1. Female PhD
- 2. Obtained her PhD after 31/12/2016
- 3. Performing scientific work in her country in the fields of: Life Sciences, Social Sciences or Technological Sciences

#### Participants

Honoring the principles of our organizations, the Prize will be for a woman scientist from one of the following countries:

Bolivia

CAS (Caribbean)

Colombia

Costa Rica

Cuba

**Dominican Republic** 

Guatemala

Honduras

Nicaragua Panama Peru Uruguay Venezuela

## Dates

Application Period Opens: April 10<sup>th</sup>, 2022 Application Deadline: May 10<sup>th</sup>, 2022

## **Application Process**

The candidate should send her application in English to her Academy of Science with:

- CV, limited to 5 pages, including name of graduate degree, name of institution, thesis title, research and work experience, publications, presentations, etc.

- Short summary, 250 words of her research interests

The Academies should send their candidate proposal with a letter signed by the President of the Academy and all application documents to IANAS Office (secretariat.ianas@gmail.com) by May 10th, 2022.

#### **Proposal for Candidates**

IANAS WfS invites the Science Academies of the countries listed above to nominate **ONE** candidate from their respective Academy countries.

#### **Selection process**

A Selection Committee will be chosen by IANAS-WfS, made up of at least 3 members from the non-participating countries in this call 2022- Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Mexico and USA. Each of these countries will nominate a highly recognized scientist to sit on the Selection Committee. The decision should be made before June 16<sup>th</sup>, 2022, and the winner will be notified